On this page I will try to answer some of the most frequently asked questions Nevada has several names for a Concealed Weapons Permit: They are "Concealed Weapons Permit," "Concealed Firearms Permit," Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW)." They all mean the same thing. Nevada only issues permits for pistols (firearms) not for Shotguns, Rifles, knives, BB guns, Airsoft, or Tasers.
How does the permit process work? You have to apply to the sheriff's office in the county in which you live. You have to take a CCW permit class in the state of Nevada from any Nevada CCW approved instructor. Any Nevada Citizen or non-Nevada Citizen can take my class in Carson City and then apply to your county's sheriff. Non-Nevada citizen's apply to the Carson City Sheriff. For example: A Washoe County resident (Reno, Sparks, etc) takes my CCW class, then applies to the Washoe County Sheriff's Office. Same goes for any county in Nevada, you do not HAVE to take the class in the county you reside, only have apply for the permit from your county's sheriff. The rest of the process is a Money and Wait game, which is explained in the class.
Do I have to have a CCW permit to carry a gun in my vehicle? NO. Nevada considers your vehicle an extension of your home and therefore secure in it. Except if carrying a long gun, shotgun or rifle, it must NOT have a round in the chamber.
What states is my permit valid in? Currently Nevada Permits are valid in 31 states which includes Nevada: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
How long is your CCW Class? I'm mandated by Nevada to teach a minimum of 8 hours. My class is extensive and not a rubber stamp, cookie cutter class. I teach extensively about the law and the live fire is more than just qualifying. Qualifying doesn't teach you how to defend yourself in a deadly force encounter. Due to the many variables that go into teach proper handgun training the class may be little longer than 8 hours (most classes have been about 9 hours).
Can I bring a .22 to your class and be certified? Yes, but. Due to the changes in the law you can bring a .22 (either semi-auto or revolver) to pass the class, but I don't recommend it. You have to think, "Will I really carry a .22 pistol to save my life or that of a loved one?" If your answer is no, then why train with it. The way you train is the way you will act under the stress of a deadly force encounter. Don't get me wrong there have been far more people killed with a .22LR than another other caliber, but it's not very effective in a deadly force encounter. With that said I will NOT deny anyone from my class because they choose to use a .22.
What Gun should I bring to the class? Due to changes in the law that went effective 10/1/2013; You only need to bring one "Handgun" (Revolver or Semi-auto). I strongly recommend you bring the Handgun you carry most often, or the one you expect to carry most often.
Can I fail the class? Yes you can. You are required to past a written and live fire qualifying with a 70% or better and will be listed on the certificate as Pass/Fail. Also if you do something "unsafe" (negligent discharge, muzzling yourself or someone else, etc) with a firearm during the class, you will fail.
How much ammo do I need? 100 rounds for the pistol you believe you will carry the most.
Can I borrow a friend's or NDT guns to qualify? Yes. Nevada only requires that you qualify with one handgun either semi-auto or revolver (the permit will list "All Handguns"). Nevada has never required serial numbers and now no longer requires make, model, and caliber. You can borrow one of my/NDT handguns for the class for a nominal fee. Contact me for more details.
Can I use reloads or hand loads in your class? For Safety Reasons NO. I'm sorry there are too many variables that go into the use of reload/hand loads. Please bring quality factory fresh ammunition.
Can new/novice shooters attend your class? Yes, I accept new/novice shooters. CCW class is not a "basic" firearms class it is a intermediate training course. The student should have the basic understanding of how the pistol they bring operates, how to load/unload, aim, and holster. The class, as mandated by Nevada, teaches basic firearms knowledge, but you should have at minimum knowledge of the above. Read the owner's manual; practice "dry firing."
How old (or young) do you have to be to attend a CCW class? Pursuant to Nevada and Federal Laws: 2o years old or older. State Law will not allow the permit to be issued until you are 21, but since the training and certification is good for a year, you can be 20. However I recommend you wait until about 20 1/2 to give you plenty of time to complete the application process.
Create your own unique website with customizable templates.